Here I am.

I’ve been meaning to start a blog for awhile, but I haven’t known how to break the ice. My father is always on me to try to gain exposure for my writing. He thinks I’m funny. I’m not convinced that I’m funny enough to warrant major attention, but we’ll see.

I’m a singer and writer living in the beautiful Garden State. I’m a freelancer, which means I look at animals doing things on YouTube and sometimes get paid to work on things. I’m a soprano, so I’ve sung opera, oratorio, early music, and Great American Songbook stuff. The last is my passion, and we’ll get to that. I’ve work as a soloist and section leader for a big Episcopal church in the Diocese of Long Island for five years now, and I love my job. I’ve also taught voice extensively.

I write a lot of stuff too. I got my start working for that big, famous performing arts college in Manhattan that has so much mystique surrounding it. When I graduated from college, I didn’t really know what to do with myself (some days I still don’t.) I wanted to have an apartment and a job and enough money to study and audition, but that was about all I knew. I wound up doing PR there for three years, and when I left to go to grad school (which I didn’t like and didn’t finish), I started freelance writing. I’ve done journalism for small magazines, grant proposals, annual/budget reports, and whatever else people have asked for. I’m currently working for an online marketing startup and having fun.

I’m happily married to my high school sweetheart, with one (so far) little sweetheart who arrived this year. My family is the love of my life. I’ll probably spill a lot here about the whole career/kids/having-it-all conundrum that supposedly faces women these days. I have some thoughts on people who perpetuate it, and they are mostly snarky. You’ll probably find that I’m very snarky.

About the blog name: as I explained, I’m a soprano. On the day my baby was born, my OB and my husband were talking about how I would adjust, and he told the hubs, “She is MEGA Type A.” We thought it was funny, because he hadn’t known me for all that long, but with that comment he managed to summarize me pretty well. I am pretty Type A, and if you mess up my perfectly sorted recycling piles, I might tackle you. But what can I say? I find things to care about, and then I care about them all the way. Maybe this is the latest one. Welcome.

Leave a Reply

